New Releases

Since I am unable to read fiction at the moment, see post below, (and it is freaking killing me!!!) I thought I would at least give a heads up on a couple of releases that I find noteworthy.

First up is John C. Wright’s new installment to his ‘Count to the Eschaton’ Sequence. It is the fourth book, so if you haven’t read any of them, this is not the place to start. I haven’t read it so I can’t specifically recommend it, but I can go on his excellent prior material and recommend this.

cover-Architect-of-Aeons-680x1024

Next up is one I commented on in January, but it bares repeating. There is not even a review of it on Amazon yet! And that is the latest volume of Lafferty Short stories, The Man with the Aura.

laffertyvol2

I really, really really wish I could dig into this RIGHT NOW!

And last but not least is a sort of Lafferty Fanzine called Feast of Laughter, apparently they are on volume two. I will certainly be picking these two up. I can’t say that I recommend it (although two of the authors I know to be quite knowledgeable of all things Lafferty) because I just discovered it. But if you are a fan of Lafferty (and ya better be, friend) this should be at the least a curiosity. I’m certainly interested.

FOL 2 front cover

2 responses to “New Releases

  • Daniel Otto Jack P. (@danielottojackp)

    We’d love to have a contribution from you for issue 3 of Feast of Laughter this autumn, R. J.! Send submissions to editor@feastoflaughter.org if you’re interested. Your unique voice and insights would be a welcome addition to the conversation about Lafferty’s works and worlds.

    • bensira587

      I am humbled and honored for the offer, sir. [Little long here, sorry!]

      It just so happens I was randomly thinking the other day about G.K. Chesterton and his Poet, and Logician (it was in Orthodoxy or The Everlasting Man – can’t remember) and how it related to Lafferty and his Catholicism. I was thinking about this because someone said to me, not long ago, that Lafferty’s Catholicism rarely touched his writing. I had to assume that the person had never really read Lafferty, or had zero education in anything religious, because I think it permeates it entirely (Past Master, Fourth Mansions, East of Laughter, Aurelia are novels that immediately come to mind here).

      But unlike most writers, Lafferty didn’t let his seams show, and he threw so much more in there; everything could come under the sweep of his imagination and be tied to his (largely) Catholic themes. And I think this is because of the nature of his belief and what Chesterton was getting at in (I believe) The Everlasting Man).

      And I think that, if you can follow the scattershot of my fetal idea, is the meaning of Lafferty’s response when he was asked if he minded being compared to Chesterton.

      You’re on the right track, kid.

      The question I pose is: how was a man devoutly committed to a seemingly constricting dogmatic religion as Catholicism also the man of the wildest imagination and player of worlds? I propose that what we see here in the question is not a paradox, but, rather, cause and effect.

      If someone has already done that, let me know!

Leave a Reply

