Chicken Boy Enters Parking Lot…

…sees too many people and drives off.

car-facebook-template-thumbnail

I decided this morning that I was going to give Mass a try.

interiorofchurch

That is Catholic Mass to you, sir. I have just got off the vampire schedule that consumed the last ten years of my life

 

51hRU5l0x1L._SY445_

so I thought, “why not?” My schedule had been to bed at 7am (or 8am) and rise at 3pm-ish.

You really don’t do much of anything on that schedule.

So after a few days of hemming and hawing about it, at 8:30 I said, screw it, I’m going. I’m figuring there would only be about 10 people in the place and plenty of seats. Sit in the back and then slip out at the end with the experience whatever that may be.

I get there and there are five or so parking spots left to the place. We are talking a healthy number of cars. There are people getting out of their cars and walking to the chapel, more people pulling in…

I’m thinking, “It is Wednesday, right? Where are all these people coming from? Isn’t it a workday?”

So with about five minutes to spare, I pull out of the parking lot and head home. Then I get a little angry with myself for being such a coward. I look at my clock – three minutes to nine. Not enough time to get back.

I think I spent too many years in too comfortable a position. Ooo, people I do not know, in an unfamiliar place, an unfamiliar atmosphere. Ooo!

OTOH, nothing stops me from going to a science fiction convention (I belong to that group… despite what Mr. R.R. Martin says) or to a movie, or anything else.

It is clearly (I think it’s clear) a case of being the OTHER. And I am not just an other, like a Lutheran or even Buddhist. But atheist, staunch 100% naturalist, that is what I was. Someone who paid lip service to the Russian “deity” Ayn Rand. Although I made one piss poor Randian, I was one darned good atheist.

I have to be willing to blunder.

 

Leave a Reply

