Song of Kali

song-of-kali1

I’ve loved some Dan Simmons ever since his Hyperion series. I was about to read Drood, also by Simmons, but after barely finishing Leckie’s Titanic disappointment, and Wright’s super-dense 4th installment of his Eschaton series, I needed a break. So I thought a good horror story would be in good order.

And in good order it is! I am only 65 pages through it (and in one day which is warp speed reading for me) but damn if this isn’t good. I mean really good. He will have had to really let out a cosmic fart to screw this up. I’ll post something about it when I am done reading it.

Wright’s book, Architect of Aeons, tried my patience a little. It was mainly info dump through dialogue. I hope he has enough of a set up now that the last two books are mainly action. There is just too much referenced by the characters of times, peoples and ages and all done up quasi-medeival (which is not a problem of itself) that after awhile you glaze over and think, “I’m I supposed to keep this terabyte info dump in my head? Do I need it to follow along?” I did come into this book in a foul fiction mood after Leckie’s cosmic fart of a series, so that is a factor.

I needed a straight ass story. I got it. I certainly recommend the first 65 pages so far!

One response to “Song of Kali

  • dpmoring

    Song of Kali is the first Simmons novel that I ever read and immediately made me a fan of his. I also really liked his Hyperion Cantos (I preferred Hyperion and The Fall of Hyperion to the latter two novel of the series), Carrion Comfort, his Summer of Night series, and the Ilium series (though I don’t think Ilium and Olympos are as good as the first two Hyperon novels). I recently repurchased Carrion Comfort on Kindle to see if it was as good as I recall.

    A novel that reminds me of Song of Kali is Peter Straub’s excellent Shadowland. It has the same hallucinatory feel to it that I remember from Kali though unlike Simmons I’ve never really enjoyed any of Straub’s other novels — with the exception of The Talisman, which he co-wrote with Stephen King.

Leave a Reply

