A Little Catch Up

Still slowly drilling away at school. Somewhere between the last time I was officially in school (98-99 for electrical engineering) and now I have grown dumber, or, more dumberer…er. Eh? I literally [edit: I hate this use of the word literally, but I already hit the send button, so it will have to stay] kicked the shit out of the material in electronics. Perhaps it is not age, perhaps it is the material.

The electronics had immediate application. This, what I am taking now, is over a year, so far, of memorization of mountains and mountains of terms. And I have seemed to have lost my knack for concentration and study.

But, enough of that.

Looking forward to this – IF  I can manage to get to it. It is a little ways away. Correction, a long way away.

Laffcon Header image

Went to The Book of Mormon last month. It was freaking hilarious. The Spooky Mormon Hell Dream song was the tops for me. When, in the middle of the song one of the Mormons tossed Satan the electric guitar and he started jamming out an 80’s style solo, I almost messed me shorts. Turn it Off (a happy Mormon song about turning off and saying no to your gay thoughts) was also worth the price of admission.

tumblr_loahwoYhfu1qf9unmo1_1280

I also got to see my favorite rock band of all time one more time (and I’m pretty sure with the singer a little over a year away from 70, it is the last time). Age means almost nothing when seeing them, they shredded us. Age meant something to me though. I got so into it I headbanged a tad which I haven’t done since the 80’s. A week later, I can still feel it in my neck and shoulders.

508112130

It was a great time.

Song of Kali, the Dan Simmons horror book, was great. I really enjoyed it, and recommend it. Right now I am on a few different books. I had planned to start Lafferty’s Arrive at Easterwine, but saw Larry Niven’s Ringworld still sitting on my shelf. I decided I was really stretching it calling myself a science fiction fan but never reading it. I am now, its a little weird.

Being in school and working the last had really sapped my reading time. Now that I am just doing school I can get to some of that reading that has been piling up. I finally finished the first Lafferty short story collection from Centipede. Yes, the first. I still have all of the second and my copy of the third may be here even this day! I was going to read Lafferty very slow so I didn’t get to the end and have no more left, since the man has passed on. But as soon as I am done with school and back on a solid work schedule, I am going to rage through his work. The material invites many a reading.

I’m still keeping the China Mieville on the back burner. I have a feeling if I don’t meet this guy in the right mood, the relationship will be short, but it could be good so I shall wait until it pulls me to the shelf, not the other way around.

 

 

2 responses to “A Little Catch Up

  • John Owen

    Hi R.J.,

    I just now saw this two months after you posted it! We would love to have you at LaffCon1. Please do come if it is at all possible for you.

    -John

    • bensira587

      Hi! I would love to be there as well. However, it would take a small miracle being buried in school and unemployed for the last four months.

      I really hope there is a LaffCon2 because that I will get to!

Leave a Reply

