WRITE, YOU CURD! WRRRRIIIIIITTEE!

writer

I love the idea of this app FLOWSTATE:

The idea is this. You set the time, choose your font, and then you write. The catch is if you stop writing, you lose all the work from the start of your session to the time you stopped. I would assume that it gives you some time for some sort of pause. If it were only three seconds, I would cry folly. Perhaps ten seconds would be cool or five. Five is cutting it. What if you have to scratch your ass? Or you have a cold and have to blow your nose?

I think I might get this app. There are a lot of distraction free apps out there but they all have a single problem, they can’t thwart my free will. No app has ever put anything on the line – at the line. Yes, if you simply get distracted and don’t write, well then you haven’t lost anything in the present, only the future. A “what if” flitters away, as an angel, unseen and unrecognized.

This app is more bold. It says “Listen, bitch. You agreed to 30 minutes of writing. If you want to snake out of it after fifteen minutes because you absolutely have to check your twitter account, we are throwing away your work. Gone! What a waste of fifteen minutes for you. You may as well have just gone straight to Twitter and not fooled yourself that you were a writer! REPENT!”

You know what my thought was when I had read that St. Thomas More disciplined himself with a hair shirt? I wanted a hair shirt.

Unfortunately I have come to the realization over the last year that I am one of those “victims” of the modern “information” age. Especially when I recently took my schtick to FaceBook where I parade as occasional mountebank with no show. It is really, really strange. Why do I care if someone responded to a comment I made or some picture I posted? I can understand if I were posting it for my wife or my parents, but it is just naked curiosity.

Point of fact: I discovered FLOWSTATE because I sat down for a two hour study session for class (an hour ago) and ended up on Scrivener’s forum and found my way to a discussion of this program, and then I found myself here telling I don’t know how few people. I know my wife and parents never come here!

I think I am going to buy this. I haven’t written squat, not a peep, in thirteen months. A lot of that is simply because of all the waste of time involved. If I could just set thirty minutes everyday and write non-stop. Well, that’s more than some published authors get done. It’s a real thirty minutes.

And it’s Write or Bust.

Leave a Reply

