Three New Reads

Almost done with school. I have sixteen coding scenarios to finish on the 3M Encoder and then take my final and then prepare for certification. I can’t wait to be done.

The spaces in-between study are filled, for the most part as usual, with reading for pleasure.

81dt8awo7pl

Think old detective noir with magic and magic creatures in modern day Chicago. It was a solid piece of action novel. Not outstanding but fast-paced and entertaining. If you like a Mickey Spillane yarn and some fantasy, the book is for you.

51zimsxnrnl

I am not that far into this book yet so this is not a review of the book at all. However I do find the rambling of the narrator to be a little annoying. The story, so far, is fine. But the kid is a yammer who needed to face his ultimate foe – the editor. However it is a Wright tale so I’m pretty safe that the story will make up for this defect. Also I should add that I’m a little biased. I don’t like people the age that the narrator is. The ages of about 12 – 24 are not years that lend well to my affection.

 

51aivdabdl-_sx311_bo1204203200_

I haven’t officially started to read this yet ($1.99 on Kindle, can’t beat that). But the title itself flies in the face of “conventional wisdom”. The conventional wisdom being Hollywood depictions, outright historical lies and a big dose of ignorance. I’ve become quite interested in this era (indeed the whole era from roughly 500 A.D. to 1400 A.D.) and from what I’ve grasped so far, the title may be pretty spot on.

Leave a Reply

