Book Find

Found this at used bookstore today. I love etymology. Although I usually find the highly abbreviated compact script of these books to be cumbersome, they really aim when you are trying to fully flesh out a word.

I’d also like to share an online resource that I use quite frequently: ONLINE ETYMOLOGY DICTIONARY

header

The link goes to the list of sources this man (and yes, apparently it is a one man project, but he has been doing it for years) uses for the site. It is quite an impressive list (although somehow it manages to not have the above resource).

I’ve often thought of getting the Barnhart, or the Chambers etymological dictionaries as well. I had the Oxford one for a week or so, but it was so concise and abbreviated I didn’t want to take the time to master a whole language of abbreviations and symbols.

Leave a Reply

