I READ IT IN ONE SITTING! EH, I DON’T BELIEVE YOU

I don’t know how many times I have read someone say of a book, “It was so great I read it in one sitting!” I then usually find out the work they are referring to is 390 pages or some ridiculous number. I can grant that you didn’t really mean one sitting unless you wear a catheter and don’t actually have to get up to pee.

But there must be a lot of talented speed readers out there. A four hundred page book in one sitting. Bullshit. Is it just a saying that everyone but me understands is not to be taken literally? Even finishing such a book in a day can only be called skimming. See, I wouldn’t take it as a complement if someone said that about my work.

“Ah, yes, thank you for taking the time to skim over my work!”

Leave a Reply

