Absence

I’ve been spotty on posting this first month of 2018. I would say I am still reeling from the butt splatter that was Star Wars: The Last Yedi, but I buried that carcass in the backyard and moved on.

This generation cannot write and does not know what a story is. I leave them to their message fiction.

I’ve got several projects in the works  (one really important one) and I am in a reading frenzy at the moment.

I am finishing up Will Durant’s CAESAR AND CHRIST

And Thomas E. Woods HOW THE CATHOLIC CHURCH BUILT WESTERN CIVILIZATION

I am also doing a reading a St. Luke’s gospel with four different commentary books. That’s about a verse a week.

Also following Jhn C. Wright’s LOST ON THE LAST CONTINENT serial from his website.

In the bullpen I have Stanley Jaki’s SCIENCE AND CREATION whose work follows some early 20th century French historian’s work – his name escapes me at the moment.

And followed by A HISTORY OF THE CHURCH TO THE EVE OF THE REFORMATION Volumes 1 – 3 by Philip Hughes (he died before he could go any further – but hey, the reformation, what a cliffhanger!)

And of course when I finish Durant’s Caesar and Christ it is onto his AGE OF FAITH

And through all of that – writing.

And love the dog.

I could comment on current events but… Why?

2 thoughts on “Absence

  1. I’m a big fan of Dan Carlin’s ‘Harcdore History’ podcast (not sure if you’ve come across it before), and he often mentions Durant. Would you recommend any books to get going? Got a couple in the basket on Amazon ready to order…

    • I haven’t heard of Carlin’s podcast. As far as Durant’s series goes. I skipped Our Oriental Heritage and skimmed through The Life of Greece as I was familiar with it already. So Caesar and Christ is a good place to start. Although it assumes, at the beginning, some material contained in the earlier volumes. Nothing that a quick little internet research can’t patch together!

Leave a comment